Accessibility of Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA): Customer Service Policy | Oceana Canada

Accessibility of Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA): Customer Service Policy

Oceana Canada respects the dignity, independence and equality of all of our stakeholders. We are committed to excellence in inclusive customer service and providing people with disabilities the same opportunity to access our information and services.

 

Assistive devices

We are committed to serving people who need assistive devices to obtain, use or benefit from our services.

 

Communication

We will communicate with people with disabilities in ways that take into account their disability.

 

Service animals

We are committed to welcoming people with disabilities who are accompanied by a service animal on the parts of our premises that are open to the public and other third parties.

 

Support persons

We are committed to welcoming people with disabilities who are accompanied by a support person. Any person with a disability who is accompanied by a support person will be allowed to enter Oceana Canada’s premises with his or her support person. At no time will a person with a disability who is accompanied by a support person be prevented from having access to his or her support person while on our premises. In the instance where admission fees are being charged for an event, there will not be a charge for a support person.

 

Notice of temporary disruption

In the event of a planned or unexpected disruption to services or facilities or services usually used by people with disabilities, Oceana Canada will make all reasonable efforts to provide advance notice. This will include information about the reason for the disruption, its anticipated length of time, and a description of alternative facilities or services, if available. The notice will be communicated as appropriate for the circumstance, for example, placed on our website or communicated directly to a person with a disability with whom a meeting is scheduled and in a manner appropriate for the disability. Notices will also be placed at reception for any unplanned customers who are accessing our offices.

 

Training

Oceana Canada will provide training to employees, volunteers and others who deal with the public or other organizations on behalf of Oceana Canada to ensure they are familiar with the appropriate ways to interact and communicate with a person with a disability. This training will be provided to new employees and volunteers within one month of their first day.

 

Training will include:

  • An overview of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005
  • Oceana Canada’s requirements of the customer service standard
  • How to interact and communicate with people with various types of disabilities
  • How to interact with people with disabilities who use an assistive device or require the assistance of a service animal or a support person
  • What to do if a person with a disability is having difficulty in accessing Oceana Canada’s services

 

Feedback process

Anyone wishing to provide feedback on the way Oceana Canada provides services to people with disabilities can provide it directly the Human Resources department using any one of the following methods:

 

Written Communication

Attention: Human Resources
Oceana Canada
18 King Street East, Suite 505
Toronto, ON  M5C 1C4

 

Verbal Communication

  • In person
  • Over the phone: (844) 362-3262 – Please ask to speak to Human Resources

All feedback will be directed to the Director, Operations and HR and a response can expected within 10 business days.

Modifications to this or other policies

Any policy of Oceana Canada that does not respect and promote the principles of dignity, independence, integration and equal opportunity for people with disabilities in accessing our good and services will be modified or removed.

 

Questions about this policy

This policy exists to achieve service excellence to customers with disabilities. If anyone has questions about this policy kindly contact the Director of Operations and HR at Oceana Canada.

Politique de service à la clientèle, conformément à la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario | Oceana Canada

Politique de service à la clientèle, conformément à la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario

Oceana Canada respecte la dignité, l’autonomie et l’égalité de tous ses clients et intervenants. Nous désirons assurer l’excellence de notre service à la clientèle et sommes engagés à fournir aux personnes handicapées un accès égal à nos informations et nos services.

 

Dispositifs d’assistance

Nous sommes engagés à servir les personnes requérant différents dispositifs d’assistance afin qu’elles puissent se procurer, utiliser ou bénéficier de nos services.  

 

Communications

Nous communiquerons avec les personnes handicapées à l’aide de moyens qui tiennent compte de leur handicap.

 

Animaux d’assistance

Nous sommes engagés à bien accueillir les personnes handicapées accompagnées d’un animal d’assistance sur nos lieux d’affaires ouverts au public, et les lieux appartenant à des tiers.  

 

Personnes de soutien

Nous sommes engagés à bien accueillir les personnes handicapées accompagnées d’une personne de soutien. Ainsi, toute personne handicapée qui est accompagnée d’une personne de soutien sera accueillie sur les lieux d’affaires d’Oceana Canada en compagnie de leur personne de soutien. En aucun cas, une personne handicapée qui est accompagnée d’une personne de soutien verra sa personne de soutien se voir refuser l’accès à nos bureaux. Dans l’éventualité où des frais d’admission seraient demandés pour un événement, la personne de soutien accompagnant une personne handicapée pourra être admise sans frais.   

 

Avis d’interruption temporaire

Dans l’éventualité où une interruption, planifiée ou imprévue, surviendrait pour  des services ou des lieux d’affaires étant habituellement utilisés par des personnes handicapées,  Oceana Canada fera tous les efforts raisonnables afin de fournir un avis à cet effet à l’avance. Cet avis comprendra les informations à propos de l’interruption, incluant les raisons de l’interruption, la durée prévue, ainsi qu’une description des établissements ou services disponibles en remplacement, le cas échéant. Cet avis sera diffusé de façon appropriée selon les circonstances de l’interruption; par exemple, l’avis pourrait être diffusé sur notre site web, ou communiqué directement à une personne handicapée avec qui une réunion était prévue, d’une manière qui tient compte du handicap de la personne. Ces avis seront également disponibles à la réception de nos bureaux pour tout client qui se présente spontanément à nos bureaux.

 

Formation

Oceana Canada fournira une formation à ses employés, ses bénévoles et toute autre personne appelée à travailler avec le public ou d’autres entreprises au nom d’Oceana Canada, à propos des moyens appropriés d’interagir et de communiquer avec les personnes handicapées. Cette formation sera prodiguée aux nouveaux employés et bénévoles dans le mois suivant leur première journée de travail.  

 

Cette formation comprendra les informations suivantes :

  • Un aperçu de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario;
  • Les exigences d’Oceana Canada relativement au service à la clientèle;
  • Les moyens d’interagir et de communiquer avec des personnes présentant différents types de handicap;
  • Les moyens d’interagir avec les personnes handicapées qui utilisent des dispositifs d’assistance, ou qui sont accompagnées par des animaux d’assistance ou des personnes de soutien;
  • Quoi faire si une personne handicapée éprouve de la difficulté à accéder aux services offerts par Oceana Canada.

 

Processus de rétroaction

Quiconque désirant formuler des commentaires sur la façon dont Oceana Canada fournit ses services aux personnes handicapées peut le faire  en communiquant avec le service des ressources humaines, à l’aide de l’une des deux méthodes suivantes :

 

Communications écrites

Attention: Ressources humaines
Oceana Canada
18 King Street East, Suite 505
Toronto, ON  M5C 1C4

 

Communications verbales

  • En personne
  • Par téléphone : (844) 362-3262 – Veuillez demander à parler aux ressources humaines

 

Vous pouvez adresser vos commentaires à l’attention du Directeur, Opérations et RH. Une réponse vous sera fournie dans les 10 jours ouvrables suivants.  

 

Modifications à cette politique ou toute autre politique

Toute politique établie par Oceana Canada qui ne respecte pas ou ne fait pas la promotion des principes de dignité, d’autonomie, d’intégration et d’égalité d’accès pour les personnes handicapées désirant utiliser nos services, sera modifiée ou retirée.   

 

Pour toute question à propos de cette politique

Cette politique a pour objectif d’assurer l’excellence du service offert aux personnes handicapées dans le cadre de notre prestation d’affaires. Si vous avez des questions à propos de cette politique, veuillez vous adresser au Directeur, Opérations et RH, chez Oceana Canada.