Now is the time to demand that our government stand up to Big Plastic and cut this harmful pollutant off at the source by strengthening the proposed ban on unnecessary single-use plastics.

Ninety per cent of people across Canada support a ban on single-use plastics and two-thirds want to see the proposed ban expanded to include more harmful plastic products.

Earlier this spring, Canada declared plastics Toxic under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA). The next step is for the government to finalize the ban. This is a critical opportunity to reduce plastic production and use. We must ensure that the plastic industry is held accountable and that consumers aren’t left responsible for the growing global plastic pollution crisis. Unsurprisingly, the plastic industry is trying to fight the laws that would hold them accountable; we can’t let them win. 

Add your name to call on the government for a strong ban on single-use plastics.

 

Plastics are Everywhere

Tens of thousands of individual marine organisms have been observed suffering from entanglement or ingestion of plastics – from zooplankton, corals and fish, to sea turtles, seals, whales and seabirds.  Plastics never go away. Instead they break down into smaller and smaller pieces, which act as magnets for harmful pollutants and chemicals. When eaten by fish, some of these contaminated microplastics work their way up the food chain and into our food supply. It is estimated that humans consume approximately one credit card worth of plastic each week.

The problem is only growing. Global production of plastic is increasing. It has nearly doubled since the start of the millennium and it’s expected to increase at least fourfold by 2050. To solve this crisis, we must significantly reduce the use of single-use and disposable plastics at its source.

Plastics in Canada

Although Canadians make up less than 0.5 per cent of the global population, we use 1.4 per cent of all plastics produced.  In 2010, Canada produced nine times more plastic waste per person than India, up to 3.6 times more than some countries in Southeast Asia and up to twice that of some Scandinavian countries. 

And our consumption keeps growing. Canada currently uses 4.6 million tonnes of plastics every year — roughly 125 kilograms per person.  Experts predict that by 2030, that number will grow to more than six million tonnes per year.  

For decades, wealthier nations like Canada have been sending plastic waste to less wealthy nations, countries that often do not have robust waste management systems. From 1988 to 2016, Canada shipped almost four million tonnes of plastics abroad, mostly to Asia.  That’s like shipping 800 blue whales every year for 29 years.

Canada is part of the problem, so we must be part of the solution. Canadians want plastic-free choices. Eighty-six per cent of Canadians say they support a single-use plastic ban.

Canada has committed to help solve this plastic crisis. Oceana Canada is calling on our government to live up to its promise to ban unnecessary single-use plastics by 2021. 

End the Plastic Disaster 

Tell the government to #EndthePlasticDisaster and stop the flow of plastics that are filling our oceans and harming marine life. Sign our petition calling on the Canadian government fulfill their commitment to ban harmful and unnecessary single-use plastics by 2021.

Oceana is working around the world to stop plastic pollution. Find out how at Oceana.org/Plastics.

Un nouveau rapport révèle que le Canada contribue au désastre mondial du plastique de manière disproportionnée. Lisez le rapport, intitulé Noyés dans le plastique : le Canada doit cesser d’alimenter le désastre mondial du plastique

Nos océans subissent une grave menace de la part de quelque chose qui fait partie de notre quotidien : le plastique. Il y a du plastique partout, et dans tout : dans l’air, dans la nourriture que la faune marine et les humains consomment, et même dans les fonds marins les plus profonds. 

Environ 22 millions de kilogrammes de plastique se retrouvent dans nos océans chaque jour ; soit l’équivalent d’une benne à ordures qui déverserait du plastique dans l’océan chaque minute. Le recyclage n’est pas la solution à ce fléau : à peine neuf pour cent de tout le plastique jamais produit dans le monde a été recyclé. Le plastique étouffe nos océans et ravage la vie marine.   

Les plastiques sont partout  

Des dizaines de milliers d’organismes marins ont été observés souffrant d’empêtrement ou d’ingestion du plastique : du zooplancton et des coraux jusqu’aux poissons, tortues de mer, mammifères marins et oiseaux de mer. Le plastique ne disparaît jamais. Il se dégrade plutôt en particules de plus en plus petites, qui agissent comme des aimants pour les polluants et substances chimiques nocives. Lorsqu’ils sont ingérés par les poissons, les microplastiques contaminés s’introduisent dans la chaîne alimentaire et notre nourriture. Selon les estimations, les humains consommeraient environ l’équivalent d’une carte de crédit en plastique chaque semaine.  

Ce problème ne fait que s’aggraver. La production mondiale de plastique est en hausse ; celle-ci a presque doublé depuis le début du millénaire et pourrait au moins quadrupler d’ici 2050. Pour résoudre cette crise, nous devons fortement réduire à la source l’utilisation de plastiques jetables et à usage unique.   

Le plastique au Canada

Alors que les Canadiens représentent moins de 0,5 % de la population mondiale, nous utilisons 1,4 % de tout le plastique produit. En 2010, le Canada a généré neuf fois plus de déchets plastiques par personne que l’Inde, jusqu’à 3,6 fois plus que certains pays du sud-est de l’Asie, et jusqu’à deux fois plus que certains pays scandinaves.    

Et notre consommation ne fait qu’augmenter. Le Canada utilise actuellement 4,6 millions de tonnes métriques de plastique chaque année, soit environ 125 kg par personne. Des experts prévoient qu’en 2030, ce volume aura augmenté jusqu’à plus de six millions de tonnes par année.  

Depuis des décennies, les pays plus riches, comme le Canada, envoient leurs déchets de plastique dans les pays plus pauvres, où les systèmes de gestion des déchets sont moins efficaces.  Entre 1988 et 2016, le Canada a expédié près de quatre millions de tonnes de plastique à l’étranger, surtout en Asie ; comme si nous expédions à l’étranger 800 baleines bleues chaque année, pendant 29 ans.   

Le Canada contribue au problème – nous devons faire partie de la solution. Les Canadiens veulent des choix sans plastique ; 86 % des Canadiens affirment soutenir l’interdiction des plastiques à usage unique. 

Le Canada s’est engagé à passer à l’action pour résoudre la crise du plastique. Oceana Canada demande au gouvernement de respecter ses engagements et d’interdire les plastiques à usage unique non nécessaires d’ici 2021.  

Arrêtons le fléau du plastique  

Dites au gouvernement d’arrêter le fléau du plastique qui envahit nos océans et ravage la vie marine. Signez notre pétition qui demande au gouvernement d’interdire les plastiques à usage unique, inutiles et nocifs, d’ici 2021. #EndthePlasticDisaster  

Oceana travaille partout à travers le monde pour mettre fin à la pollution plastique. Découvrez nos initiatives au Oceana.org/Plastics